2014 CSEC Representative Elections


Please review the biographical information of the candidates below, then click the green button to vote via Survey Monkey.

Primary Care Representative


Barbara Post, MD

Barbara Post, MD (Incumbent)
Associate Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine
Medical Director, UVA Community Medicine

Dr. Post received her MD degree from the University of Illinois in 1983.  She completed an internship in Internal Medicine in 1984 at the University of Virginia, and completed her residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Virginia in 1986.  Dr. Post has consistently received the distinction as a "Best Doctor in America" since 2003, and received the Dean's Clinical Excellence Award in 2004 and 2007.  She serves as the Medical Director of Community Medicine, and maintains a clinical practice at Northridge Internal Medicine.

Surgical Specialties Representative


Reid Adams, MD

Reid Adams, MD (Incumbent)
Claude A. Jessup Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Surgical Oncology
Chief, Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery
Department of Surgery
Associate Director, Clinical Affairs, Cancer Center
Director, Cancer Center of Excellence

Dr. Adams received his MD degree from the University of Virginia in 1987 and continued his graduate medical education at the University of Virginia to complete a Residency in Surgery in 1994.  Dr. Adams completed a fellowship in Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery and Liver Transplantation at the University of Toronto in 1995.  Dr. Adams obtained Board Certification in 1995 by the American Board of Surgery.  Dr. Adams joined the faculty of the Department of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology in 1995.  Dr. Adams currently serves as Division Chief of Surgical Oncology, Associate Director of Clinical Affairs of the Cancer Center, and the Director of the Cancer Center of Excellence.  He also serves as a member of the Credentials Committee, and Professional Practice Evaluation Subcommittee.  Dr. Adams continues to maintain his clinical practice as a surgeon within the Department of Surgery.

Stephen Brockmeier, MD

Stephen Brockmeier, MD
Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
Associate Program Director, Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program
UVA Team Physician

Dr. Brockmeier obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree in Biochemistry from UVA, then obtained his MD degree from Georgetown University in 2001.  He completed a residency in Orthopedic Surgery at Georgetown om 2006, and completed a fellowship in Sports Medicine and Shoulder Surgery from the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York in 2007.  Dr. Brockmeier specializes in reconstructive surgery of the shoulder, including total shoulder replacement, humeral resurfacing, revision shoulder arthroplasty and reverse shoulder arthroplasty.

Medical Specialties Representatives


John Dent, MD

John Dent, MD, MS, MHCM
Professor of Internal Medicine
Cardiovascular Division

Dr. Dent obtained his MD degree from Columbia University in 1986.   At UVA he completed his residency in Internal Medicine in 1989, fellowship in Cardiovascular Disease in 1992, then joined as an attending physician.  He currently serves as Medical Director of the Adult Echocardiography Laboratory and the Director of the Cardiovascular Fellowship Training Program.   He  obtained an MS in Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety from Northwestern University in 2012 and an MS in Healthcare Management from the Harvard School of Public Health this year.   He maintains a full clinical practice.

Daryl Gress, MD

Daryl Gress, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology

Dr. Gress obtained his MD degree from Washington University in St. Louis, MO in 1982.  He completed internships and residencies at Johns Hopkins Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital, and was the Chief Resident in Neurology at Mass General in 1987.    He completed neurocritical care and stroke fellowships at Massachusetts General Hospital in 1998.    Dr. Gress has held academic appointments at Harvard Medical School, and University of California, San Francisco before joining UVA as an Associate Professor in 2007.   He is also the ACMO of Critical Care and maintains a full clinical practice.