Clinical Staff Office

Medical Emergency Response Subcommittee


Administration: Penny Carlisle
Chair: William Brady, MD


The Medical Emergency Response Subcommittee is a multidisciplinary committee charged to coordinate and standardize effective resuscitative services throughout the Medical Center. This Subcommittee reports to the Critical Care Subcommittee, which reports to the Patient Care Committee.

Membership: Memberships includes representation from Life Support Learning, Anesthesia, Respiratory Therapy, Nursing, Medicine and others as recommended by the chair.

Staff Support is provided by the Life Support Learning Center.

Meetings: The Resuscitation Subcommittee shall meet as deemed necessary by the Chair.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Utilizes benchmark and institutional data to evaluate outcomes and identify opportunities for improvement
  • Utilizes evidenced-based medicine and current literature to evaluate equipment, medications and supplies to standard processes and protocols related to resuscitation
  • Provides institutional direction for education related to resuscitation
  • Annually reviews existing policies and procedures related to resuscitation and makes recommendations for revisions
  • Collaborates with other committees and departments to ensure effective resuscitative processes
  • Provides regular reports to the Patient Care Committee via the Critical Care Subcommittee

Current Members

Members  Specialty 
William Brady, MD, Chair Emergency Medicine
Mark Adams Heart Center- CCU 
Kostas Alibertis Life Support Learning Center 
Will Barnhardt
Emergency Management
Josh Barclay, MD
Geriatrics and Palliative Care
Frank Bartram Renal Services - Lynchburg Dialysis 
Thomas Berry, MHA
Director, Emergency Management 
Karen Braden Emergency Department 
Kathy Butler Trauma Coordinator 
Mary Carson Pain Management Center 
Jeannean Carver, MD Pediatrics 
Andrea Caulfield, RN
Director, Critical Care
Barbara Craighead Emergency Management 
Stacy Crowell Director, QPI 
Gerald Donowitz, MD Internal Medicine 
Carlton Frazier Emergency Transport 
Steve Dunn
Kevin Elgin
KCRC Operations
Sharon Esau, MD
Pulmonary & Critical Care
John Gilday
Emergency Management
Sonny Gray
MEDCOM Supervisor
Daryl Gress, MD Chair, Critical Care Subcommittee, ACMO Critical Care
Tim Hodge  Pegasus Network 
Nick Kell
Emergency Management
John Knapp Director, Clinical Engineering 
Laura Lee, MD Pediatrics 
Stuart Lowson, MD Anesthesiology 
Dave Mayo Core Clinical Services 
Beth Mehring Emergency Mangement 
Blee Moffitt MET Team 
Peter Monteleone, MD Medicine 
Donald Moore Chaplaincy Services 
Leigh Ann Nordt
Staffing Resource Office
Greg Paquin Heart Center, CCU 
Vanessa Peters
Peter Pollak, MD Internal Medicine 
Doreen Satterwhite Heart Center- Cadiac Cath Lab 
Jeff Sessler Pharmacy 
Dale Shifflett Materials Support 
Joshua Smith, MD Anesthesiology 
Gil Somers Life Support Learning Center 
Benton Turner
Ambulatory Services
Marc Winstead Life Support Learning Center 
Santina Zanelli, MD Clinical Pediatrics/Neonatology