Clinical Staff Office

Patient Safety Committee


Administration: Cheryl Skinner
Chair: Jeff Young, M.D.


The Patient Safety Committee is an interdisciplinary committee charged with the coordination and implementation of programs for ensuring patient safety within the Medical Center, including directing and overseeing proactive risk reduction and patient safety.  This Committee conducts a survey of clinical and Medical Center staff to identify areas for improvement in the understanding of patient safety principles and actions.  The Patient Safety Committee evaluates trends from quality reports, adverse event analysis and other sources and recommends appropriate actions to improve patient safety throughout the Medical Center. 

Membership: Representation from Nursing, Medicine, Radiology, Pharmacy, Inpatient and Outpatient management, Administrative Services, Performance Improvement, Risk Management.

Staff Support is provided by the Performance Improvement Program.

Meetings: The Patient Safety Subcommittee shall meet monthly or as otherwise deemed necessary by the Chair, but not less than quarterly.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Prioritizes performance improvement projects related to patient safety and submits them to the Quality Council for approval.
  • Monitors and analyzes aggregated, trended data and specific case reports related to patient safety such as Quality Reports, Risk Management reports, Sentinel and Significant event reviews and Sentinel event alerts
  • Collaborates with other committees to improve patient safety and ensure compliance with the Joint Commission (TJC) standards, Medicare Conditions of Participation and other regulatory requirements related to patient safety
  • Provides Institutional oversight and direction for staff and faculty education related to patient safety
  • Defines content for patient and family education related to patient safety
  • Ensures a process for appropriate patient and family participation in care planning and delivery to enhance safety
  • Communicates patient safety goals and strategies for improvement via defined institutional communication processes
  • Recognizes and celebrates successful performance improvement efforts related to patient safety
  • Recommends policies and procedures related to patient safety
  • Oversees, evaluates and revises the Patient Safety Plan
  • Provides regular feedback to the Quality Council and an annual report to the Medical Center Operating Board regarding the effectiveness of the Patient Safety Plan and recommended revisions to the Plan

Current Members

 Members Specialty 
Jeff Young, MD, Chair
Chief Patient Safety Officer, Surgery
Jim Amato
Chief, Ancillary Services
Eric Charles, MD
Housestaff Council Co-President
Bo Cofield, DrPH
AVP for Hospital & Clinic Operations
Stacy Crowell Director, Quality and Performance Improvement
Kevin Dabrowski, MD
Housestaff Council Co-President
John Dent, MD
Medical Specialties Rep
Lorna Facteau, RN, DNsc
Chief Nursing Officer
Chris Ghaemmaghami, MD
CMO, Emergency Medicine
Robert Gibson, MD
President, Clinical Staff, Cardiology
Mark Golub, MD
Radiology & Medical Imaging, Quality Officer
Rebecca Hill, SLP
Patient Safety & Risk Management 
Tracey Hoke, MD
Chief, Quality & Performance Improvement; Pediatrics
Rachael Holmes, RN, MSN
Patient Safety & Risk Management
Jamie Hughes, RN
Epic, HSTS
Jackie Loach, RN Patient Safety & Risk Management 
Fred Jung, RN, PhD
Administrator, Performance & Quality Improvement
Susan Kirk, MD
DIO and Associate Dean for GME
Luke Kohan, MD
Cardiology Fellow
Gabrielle Marzani-Nissen, MD
Office of the CMO
Beth Mehring, RN
Emergency Management, LSLC
Justin Rizer, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident
Rafael Saenz, PharmD
Ellen Smith, RN
Patient Safety
Robert Thiele, MD
Deb Wilmoth, RN Patient Safety & Risk Management