Clinical Staff Office

Graduate Medical Education Committee


Administration: Sarah Oh, PhD, Education Specialist
Chair: Susan Kirk, M.D., DIO, Associate Dean of GME


The Graduate Medical Education Committee oversees the quality of GME trainees' training and working envornment within the institution and the participating sites as regulated by the accreditation agencies, such as ACGME, AMA, AMC, NRMP.

Membership: The Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education will serve as Chair.

Staff support is provided by the GME Office.

Meetings: The Graduate Medical Education Committee shall meet as necessary but not less than quarterly.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Defines and oversees the resident supervision process with respect to patient care
  • Recommends new residency programs, revisions to existing programs or additional residency slots requested by program directors
  • Establishes effective lines of communication with house staff to stay informed of issues that affect them; acts upon major issues of concern
  • Evaluates existing rotations by house staff to other facilities and recommends changes and inclusion of rotations to new facilities
  • Monitors quality and effectiveness of all residency training programs to ensure resident competency and safe patient care
  • Ensures compliance to requirements established by the accrediting agencies
  • Conducts regular internal reviews to ensure the facilities and resources are available to provide quality educational experiences and the regulatory requirements are met
  • Annually reviews resident stipends and benefits and recommends changes as needed to the Chief Executive Officer
  • Provides an annual report to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee and to the Medical Center Operating Board

Current Members

 Members  Specialty
Susan Kirk, M.D., Chair (Associate Dean for GME) Medicine/Endocrinology
Diane Farineau, Director
Graduate Medical Education
Kristin Atkins, M.D.
Leigh Cantrell, M.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology 
Scott Commins, M.D.
Allergy & Immunology
Thomas Cropley, M.D. Dermatology 
Richard Dacus, M.D.
Zachariah Dameron, M.D. Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences 
Gerald Donowitz, M.D. Medicine/Infectious Diseases 
David Drake, M.D. Plastic Surgery 
Thomas Gampper, M.D.
Plastic Surgery
John Gazewood, M.D. Family Medicine 
Brain Hoard, D.D.S. Dentistry
Tracey Hoke, MD
Chief Quality Officer
Sarah Oh, PhD
GME Education Specialist 
Jeff Jenkins, M.D. Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Bradley Kesser, M.D. Otolaryngology- Head & neck Surgery 
Edward Nemergut, M.D.
Reza Salajegheh, MD
Housestaff Delegate
Saher Sabri, M.D.
Diagnostic Radiology
Robert G. Sawyer, M.D. Surgery 
Bruce Schirmer, M.D. Surgery 
Mark Shaffrey, M.D., Chair Neurosurgery 
Andy Southerland, M.D.
Linda Waggoner-Fountain, M.D. Pediatrics
Rhett Willis, M.D.
Housestaff Delegate
William Woods, M.D.
Emergency Medicine
Jeffrey Young, M.D. Chief Patient Safety Officer