The President of the Clinical Staff, the Chair of the Credentials Committee, and employees of the Clinical Staff Office are available to assist you. The Clinical Staff Office is located on the First Floor of McKim Hall. Office hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00AM to 5:30PM. You may contact us via e-mail, in person, by phone (434-924-9055) or fax (434-244-7548).


Robert S. Gibson, MD, FACC, MACP
President of the Clinical Staff
Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

PH (434) 924-2930|FAX (434) 982-1998

Dr. Gibson received his M.D. degree from the University of Virginia in 1975 and completed his residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Cardiovascular Medicine, also at the University of Virginia.  He joined the School of Medicine faculty in 1981 as an Assistant Professor, and was promoted to full Professor in 1987.  In 1992, he was named the Lockhart B. McGuire Professor of Medicine.  His research interests include technology assessment, development of practice guidelines, and outcomes research.  During his 30 years as a member of the Clinical Staff, Dr. Gibson has serviced on over 50 UVA Health System committees and task forces, and also been involved in a variety of university-wide activities.






Scott A. Syverud, MD
Vice President of the Clinical Staff
Chair, Credentials Committee
Professor of Emergency Medicine


PH (434) 924-8281|FAX (434) 243-2924

Dr. Syverud received his M.D. degree from the State University of New York, Syracuse, in 1981, and completed an Emergency Medicine Residency and Research Fellowship in Emergency Medicine and Cardiovascular Disease at the University of Cincinnati in 1985.  He obtained Board Certification by the American Board of Emergency Medicine in 1986.  Dr. Syverud joined the School of Medicine faculty in 1992 as an Associate Professor, and was promoted to full Professor in 2005.  He currently serves as Vice-Chair for Clinical Operations in the Department of Emergency Medicine. His responsibilities include oversight of the physician directors of the adult and children's emergency departments, quality assurance, medical scribes, coding and billing, informatics, and integration with other departments.   He also services on the Clinical Staff Executive committee, Professional Practice Evaluation Committee, and Bylaws Committee.  In addition, he serves as Medical Director for the forensic nursing program.  During his 20 years as a member of the Clinical Staff, he has served as a Division Director, Residency Program Director, Emergency Department Medical Director, and as Interim Clinical Chair.  Dr. Syverud is actively involved in outreach efforts for the Health System, including the Remote Area Medical (RAM) Clinics.


Tracey Hoke, MD, MSc
Chief of Quality and Performance Improvement
Senior Associate Chief Medical Officer for Quality
Fred Jung, RN, PhD, CPHQ
Administrator, Quality & Performance Improvement
Stephanie A. Allen
Director, Clinical Staff Office
Carole Wagonhurst, MA
Clinical Staff Office Program Coordinator
Jessica Venable
MC Credentialing Coordinator
Credentialing, New MC Physicians
Sue Boisvert
MC Credentialing Coordinator
Re-credentialing, MC Physicians
Resignations, MC Physicians
Denise Stancil
MC Credentialing Coordinator
New and Re-Credentialing, MC AHP's
New and Re-Credentialing, Health South and TCH Physicians
Amerylis Roberts
MC Credentialing Coordinator
Clinical Practice Group Credentialing, Physicians and AHP's